Spring Rainbow Baby Blanket Pattern.

I made this gorgeous blanket for my baby granddaughter Maisy to keep- her cosy in her new pushchair. It was made entirely from my yarn stash some of the colours I’ve had a while. All the yarns I have used all have a high percentage of merino wool, So that you can make a blanket like mine I have listed all my shades below in several different branded yarns. However there are some shades that are discontinued and no longer available so I have listed alternate shades when this happens to get the best match possible. I have also added some of my mini skeins of hand dyed yarn .

Rounds 1-7

Copyright As with all my patterns the copyright remains exactly as it would if you purchasing from my Etsy Shop . I give my free time to write tutorials and patterns as a thank you for supporting my Etsy shop but the same copyright applies as to my paid patterns. If you are enjoying my pattern why not pop to my Etsy shop there’s lots of new patterns added. https://www.etsy.com/shop/SewHappyCreative
This pattern/tutorial remains the property of SewHappyCreative, you may not copy, share, reproduce or sell the pattern itself. You are welcome to sell your finished creations in small quantities made from this pattern, but we kindly ask that you credit us and that you link to our https://www.etsy.com/shop/SewHappyCreative if selling online. ©Copyright SewHappyCreative 2023. The photos used in my tutorial may not be shared without prior permission.

Spring Rainbow blanket pattern notes:The main part of the blanket is large granny square with 33 rounds of traditional granny square stripes. To keep your square from twisting and corners neat, I flipped over my blanket after each round alternating from RS and WS rounds,
I used a 4mm hook and the colour sequence guide below, to make one large granny square.
My border was 2 rounds of htr (US hdc) herringbone stitch and 1 round of extended dc (US sc) both of these stitches there a videos of on my Instagram page. I then finished it off with a round of dc (US sc) a pretty shell edging which I’ll share again on my reel and update the details here afterwards.

Rounds 1- 33 Following the colour sequence below, work rounds 1-33 working as a traditional granny square with 3tr, in each sp and (3tr, ch1, 3tr,) in each corner sp, ss to join each round to beg ch-3.

I have used a mixture of yarn for my blanket, as it was all made from merino yarn in my stash it may not be possible to give the precise match as not all yarn is available any more and you may like to use up colours you already have or duplicate shades that I have given below. I hope you love making my blanket and if you want to add handy dyed yarn like me there there’s a variety of mini skeins in my Etsy shop many in lucky dip bags so you can use a variety of shades https://www.etsy.com/shop/SewHappyCreative


Round 1& 28 Debbie Bliss Rialto Rose 76, Round 2 & 29 Debbie Bliss Rialto lilac 85
Round 3,15 Debbie Bliss Rialto Sea 83, Round 4 Debbie Bliss Baby Cashmerino Citrus 18
Round 5 ,17 & 32 Debbie Bliss Rialto Banana 57, Round 6 Debbie Bliss Baby Cashmerino Light pink 600, Round 7 Debbie Bliss Baby Cashmerino Flame 306, Round 8, 13, 20, 25 & 30 Debbie Bliss Baby Cashmerino Ecru 101,
Round 9, 21, 31 Sirdar Snuggly cashmere merino silk Green Beanstalk Round 10 Debbie Bliss Baby Rialto Mint 18 Round, 11, 18, 23, 33, Sirdar Snuggly pink little piglet 300. Round 12, 24, Debbie Bliss Baby Cashmerino Lilac 10 Round 14, 26 Sirdar Snuggly Cashmere Merino Silk Pied Piper 305 Round 16 & 22 I used my hand dyed yarn so the closest match is DB baby Cashmerino mint 18 as in round 10 Round 19 Sirdar Snuggly Baby cashmere Lipstick Pink 362
Round 27 Debbie Bliss Rialto Scarlet 12

Border shades are Sirdar Snuggly Baby cashmere Lipstick Pink 362, Debbie Bliss Rialto rose 76, banana 52 and ecru 101

Leave a comment