My Mitre Blanket Journey

This all started last autumn after seeing an Instagram post by Made By Anita who was knitting a gorgeous mitre blanket. On researching this humble little knitted square it turns out that there are quite a few versions of a mitre square so the following is not my pattern or design it’s my interpretation and how I made my blanket for my granddaughter . I have yet to find who is the original designer to give proper credit to. I’d like to thank Made By Anita for her inspiration and also as I used a free pattern on Raverly by Georgia Nicholson called Memory blanket. I did add a little tweak of my own which I’ll add to my notes . Be warned this is totally addictive and very hard to put down. Happy Knitting.

This is a “map” of the order I joined my squares in, so 8 after 7 but that will be next to 4 and 9 after 8 and next to square 6 .

All my squares were made by casting on 40 sts on 4mm needles . All rows are worked as knit rows creating garter stitch. Decreases are worked in the centre 4 stitches on alternating rows by knit 2tog twice. I used lots of my hand dyed mini skeins, sometimes using more than 2 shades for a square to use up all my bits and bobs of yarn ends . 1 20 gram mini skein of my hand dyed yarn will make 2 squares . 1 10gram micro skein will make 1 complete mitre square .

For lots of gorgeous hand dyed yarn pop over to my Etsy shop https://www.etsy.com/uk/SewHappyCreative/listing/1265605258/rainbow-haze-hand-dyed-yarn-dk-3-mini?

Cast on 40, knit the first row, placing a stitch marker half way through this row moving it to as you go .Row 2 Knit 18, ( this is 2 stitches before your stitch marker ) knit 2tog twice, knit 18. Row 3 Knit 38sts.

Row 4 repeat row 2 but this time Knit 17, knit 2tog twice, knit 17. Row 5 knit.( 36sts) Repeat rows 4 & 5 decreasing in the same way until you have 2 stitches remains, knit 1 more row, either knit 2 tog cast off or place in a stitch holder to knit 2 tog when you join in your next square.

See photo below – To join in and knit your 2nd square, cast on 20 stitches and. Pick up and knit 20 stitches between row ends across top of square 1 as my photo below- 40sts knit 1 row and complete as your first square ,

2 thoughts on “My Mitre Blanket Journey

Leave a comment